Call For a Free Consultation (312) 614-1076
Even if your license is suspended, our experienced DUI lawyers can petition the court to grant you a Judicial Driving Permit. This Permit will allow you to drive to and from work following an arrest for DUI. A Judicial Driving Permit (JDP) may be available while your driver's license is suspended for DUI. There is no guarantee that you will receive a JDP. In fact, a Judge can grant you a JDP only after holding a hearing to determine if you are eligible for a JDP.
A driving under influence (DUI) conviction in the State of Illinois has meaningful consequences. In the State of Illinois all first offenders will face a mandatory Monitoring Device Driving Permit. (MDDP) A MDDP will require motorists to have BAIIDs (Breath Alcohol ignition Interlock Device) installed in their vehicles at great expense to the defendant.
The lw firm also represents clients charged with speeding tickets, reckless driving, multiple speeding tickets, hit and run or other traffic violations, including ticket expungments and petitions to vacate past tickets. Call the law firm today for a free consultation today at (312)614-1076.
If you depend on your driver's license for work, you will need to fight this suspension by filing a petition with the Court within 90 days after your arrest for DUI in Illinois. Contact the attorneys at The Bryant Law Group today so that our lawyers may begin to fight your case immediately. Our DUI lawyers can file your petition today, and begin fighting the suspension of your driver's license at your next court date.
Many people arrested for DUI in Illinois do not realize that, in addition to a charge for DUI, their driver's license can be suspended. These suspensions are automatic and will happen on the 46th day following an arrest for DUI in Illinois. Because this is an automatic suspension, your license can be suspended even without a trial or opportunity to hire an experienced DUI lawyer! If you are arrested for DUI in Illinois with a breathalyzer reading of .08 or greater you will have your driver's license suspended for a mandatory 3 month period. A second arrest for DUI in Illinois with a failed breathalyzer calls for a mandatory 12 month suspension of your driver's license.
If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test after a DUI arrest in Illinois, you will face a mandatory 6 month suspension of your driver's license. If you have had prior DUI arrests and you refuse a breathalyzer, your license faces a mandatory 36 month suspension. A DUI conviction in Illinois will result in the loss of your license for one year. A second DUI conviction in Illinois will result in the loss of your license for five years. A third conviction for DUI in Illinois will result in the loss of your license for twenty years.
In Illinois, you can be arrested for DUI even if you do not submit to a breathalyzer test. If a police officer has a reasonable suspicion to believe that you are intoxicated the officer will generally ask you to perform field sobriety tests. The results of your field sobriety tests can be enough for you to be charged with a DUI, even without a breathalyzer test! Unfortunately, many of these field sobriety tests are not 100% reliable.
In Illinois, there are two entirely separate proceedings following a DUI arrest. The first case against you is the criminal charge for DUI. The second case is a civil proceeding to determine whether or not you will be able to keep your license.
Phone: (312) 614-1076
Facsimile: (312) 268-7385
The Bryant Law Group, LLC.
79 W. Monroe, Suite 1011
Chicago, IL 60603
Contact The Bryant Law Group, LLC attorneys now for a free consultation.
Content copyright ©2015. The Bryant Law Group, LLC. All rights reserved.